Motueka High School News

School Exams September 2017 | Dr Stress Exam Prep 2017



5th February, 2018

Maddie Bridge was named as the Top Year 10 Student for 2017



Harrison Frater was named as the Top Year 9 Student for 2017

Cheer and Dance Nationals

15th November, 2017

The Motueka High Cheerleading team recently competed at the New Zealand Cheer and Dance Nationals.
Across all division entered the teams placed- which is a fantastic result for a team who only started competing last year.

For the level 2 stunt group, the MHS golden girls placed 2nd.
The level 3 stunt group, MHS Xtreme, placed 3rd.

The Intensity team placed 3rd in the school team division.

Kaitlyn Bremner placed 3rd in her cheer solo and Linn Brinhildsen places 4th.

Myah Limmer placed 1st in the Jazz solo.

A fantastic weekend in Wellington, showcasing the amazing talent we have at our school


2nd October, 2017

May Takahashi has sucessfully won a very tight race to become the next Student Trustee.

Congratulations May and a huge thank you to Tagan Stringer who has represented the students over the past year.


Motueka High School – an example of a high school doing innovative things

14th September, 2017

Motueka High School had a write up in the Environmental Education for Sustainability Strategy and Action Plan.Rose Hipkins citied Motueka High School as an example of a high school doing innovative things with curriculum at the recent Deputy Principals Conference held in New Plymouth recently

Please see the Events listing for the latest updates

14th November, 2016

Emerging Talent Scholarship Applications – Closing Date 30 October 2018

5th August, 2015

As an extension to our Gifted and Talented programme for Year 8 students and in preparation for students seeking tertiary scholarships (i.e. Kina, McKee and Manoy), Motueka High School are offering 3 scholarships to recognize emerging talent for three Year 9 students in 2019:



  • Registration in or attendance of at least one Gifted and Talented workshop at Motueka High School in Year 7 or 8.
  • Completion of an application form and essay submission by 30 October 2017.
  • Must be a New Zealand resident.
  • Must attend Motueka High School for Year 9 and 10 to receive the scholarship.



  •  Two years free school fees at Motueka High School (includes school and course fees only, not extra-curricular activities).
  • Provision of a school uniform package (one off issue).
  • Provision of stationery (one off issue).
  • Acknowledgment of scholarship in local and school media and at sponsors’ premises.


CLOSING DATE:                                                 30 October 2018 

Shortlisting Review by Panel:                    2 November- 6 November 2018

Successful Applicants Advised:                 8-10 November 2018

Unsuccessful Applicants Advised:            8-10 November 2018

Please submit your application to Nicki Saunders-Loder, Motueka High School or by email – by the close off date.

Cultural Education Signing Ceremony – Motueka High School & Supporting Partners

23rd July, 2015

Back in May 2015, we reached a significant milestone in raising funds from our community, iwi and other organisations to enable us to build a Cultural Education Centre at Motueka High School.  To recognise our achievements at that stage – a signing ceremony was held.  Below is a link to the footage of that ceremony.

We again take this opportunity to thank ITM, NBS, NRAIT, Wakatu, The Canterbury Community Trust and look forward to seeing the Cultural Education Centre built in the near future.


Upcoming events

Tuesday 27 February 2018: Athletic Sports
Thursday 8 March 2018: Swimming Sports
Friday 30 March 2018: Good Friday
Thursday 29 March 2018: Teacher only day
See all events »