tel. +64 03 528 9050  email. admin@motuekahigh.school.nz

Motueka High School

Today's Learners, Tomorrow's Leaders

Our Staff

Principal

Scott Haines, HS

Mr Haines is the Principal of Motueka High School.

paula.dempsey@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Principal

Deputy Principal

Paul Blackbeard, BB

DEPUTY PRINCIPAL
Mr Blackbeard is responsible for Year 10 and 12 students and on alternate years Year 9, 11 and 13.  He also teaches Mathematics. 

 
 
paul.blackbeard@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Deputy Principal
Stacey Fry, FR

DEPUTY PRINCIPAL
Ms Fry is responsible for Year 9, 11 and 13 students and on alternate years Year 10 and 12.  She teaches Year 13 English.

stacey.fry@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Deputy Principal

Dean

Rebekah Wolfreys

YEAR 9 DEAN

Mrs Wolfreys teaches Social Studies and Future Problem Solving.

Dean
Greg O'Donnell

YEAR 9 ASSOCIATE DEAN

Mr O'Donnell teaches Outdoor Education

greg.odonnell@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Dean
Karen Wells, WE

YEAR 10 DEAN
Ms Wells teaches Digital Technology and Taha Maori.  She is involved with Te Rourou Kura (Secondary Schools Kapa Haka) and Te Kahui Matauranga (Maori Education Committee). 

karen.wells@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Dean
Barbara Adcock, AC

YEAR 11 DEAN
Ms Adcock teaches Maths and is also responsible for NCEA tracking and information for students.

barbara.adcock@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Dean
Brian Jones

YEAR 12 DEAN
Mr Jones is Teacher in Charge of Graphics.

brian.jones@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Dean
Beccy-Jo Burnett

YEAR 13 DEAN
Mrs Burnett teaches PE, Health and Sport and Recreation.  She also helps out with the Ball Committee.

 
Dean
Tony Aikenhead, AK

TRANSITION DEAN/CAREERS ADVISOR
Mr Aikenhead teaches Gateway and a Sport Module.  As the Head of Transition, he coordinates STAR courses and is responsible for Distance Learning.  Tony is a High Performance Sports Coach who facilitates the Athletics Academy.

 
tony.aikenhead@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Dean
Lorraine Mullings, MU

GUIDANCE COUNSELLOR
Ms Mullings is situated at Te Whare Pora - The House.

Dean
Judy Thorp

INTERNATIONAL DEAN/DIRECTOR
Mrs Thorp is responsible for enrolment of international students, and assists in their pastoral care working with Deans and Teachers.

 
judy.thorp@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Dean

Head of Department

Peter Allan, AL

HOD TECHNOLOGY
Mr Allan Teaches Automotive, Engineering and Metalwork.  He also facilitates part of the Primary Trades Academy course.

 

peter.allan@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Graeme Coleman, CM

HOD SOCIAL SCIENCES
Mr Coleman teaches Social Studies, Community Issues, Tourism and Geography.

 
graeme.coleman@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Sarah Cumming

HOD PE & HEALTH

Sarah is HOD PE & Health

sarah.cumming@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Hamihi Duncan

HOD MAORI

Mr Duncan is our HOD Maori.

hamihi.duncan@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Faith Jackson, JA

HOD MATHEMATICS
Mrs Jackson teaches Mathematics and is the teacher in charge of Golf. 

 
 
faith.jackson@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Ben Mills

HOD ART
Mr Mills is HOD Art.

 
ben.mills@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Hilary Sinclair, SC

HOD MUSIC
Ms Sinclair teaches Music and coordinates itinerant music lessons.  She leads the wind band, the jazz band and the school choirs. 

hilary.sinclair@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Gareth Wheeler

HOD OUTDOOR EDUCATION
Mr Wheeler teaches Year 12 and Year 13 Outdoor Education. 

gareth.wheeler@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Nick Wiffen, WF

HOD SCIENCES
Mr Wiffen teaches Physics and Science.  He is the ICT Coordinator and the teacher in charge of Squash.

 

nick.wiffen@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department
Jill Wipou, WP

HOD ENGLISH
Ms Wipou teaches English and is the staff representative on the Board of Trustees. 

jill.wipou@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Head of Department

Teaching Staff

Rory Barrett

Mr Barrett is a Teacher of Mathematics & Computer Science

rory.barrett@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Jill Bell, BE

Mrs Bell teaches SPEC Programme, Gateway and Careers.

jill.bell@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Sharon Beuke, BK

Mrs Beuke teaches History and is the Teacher in Charge of the School Library.

sharon.beuke@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Jess Cooper

Mrs Cooper is a Teacher of English

jess.cooper@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Dan Crossley

Mr Crossley is a Teacher of Social Studies & PE.

dan.crossley@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Amy Dalton, DA

Mrs Dalton teaches Science and Biology.

amy.dalton@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Melanie Drewery

Ms Drewery is a Teacher of English.

melanie.drewery@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Sarah Fyfe, FY

Ms Fyfe coordinates the programmes of those students who have some special needs but who attend mainstream classes.  She also teaches English and ESOL.

sarah.fyfe@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Anthea Garmey, GA

Ms Garmey teaches Science, Horticulture and Biology.

anthea.garmey@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Shelley Green

Ms Green is a Teacher of Soft Fabrics - Technology

michele.green@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Sam Hannan

Mr Hannan is a Teacher of Health & PE

sam.hannan@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Michele Hudson, HD

Mrs Hudson teaches French.

michele.hudson@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Allison Jensen, JN

Mrs Jensen is the Teacher in charge at Te Whare Pukeone - The Base - and works with ORRS funded students. 

 
allison.jensen@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Robynne Jephson, JE

Ms Jephson teaches Drama.

robynne.jephson@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Lauren Kidd

Miss Kidd is a Teacher of Art, Hard Materials - Technology & Special Needs

lauren.kidd@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Stefan Laing

Mr Laing teaches PE and also assists as a teacher aide.

stefan.laing@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
James Monaghan, MN

Mr Monaghan teaches Maths.

james.monaghan@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Heather Olds, OL

Mrs Olds teaches part-time in Food Technology.

heather.olds@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Lesley Paxton, PA

Mrs Paxton is a Science Teacher.

lesley.paxton@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Rob Sanders, SA

Mr Sanders teaches Mathematics and Calculus.

rob.sanders@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Jane Sorensen

Ms Sorensen teaches English and Social Studies.

jane.sorensen@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Bruce Stare, ST

Mr Stare teaches Science and Chemistry and is also builds the School Timetable for each new year. 

bruce.stare@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Jake Stow, SO

Mr Stow is a member of the Technology Department teaching Graphics, Building and Furniture Making. 

jake.stow@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Emily Tait, TA

Mrs Tait teaches Dance, Drama and English.  She is currently on leave.

emily.tait@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
James Tait, TT

Mr Tait is the Assistant Head of Department Technology and teaches senior Food Technology and junior Social Studies.

james.tait@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Sue Thorp, TP

Ms Thorp is the Specialist Classroom Teacher.   She teaches Visual Arts and Art History.

sue.thorp@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Lorna Wilson, WI

Ms Wilson teaches Accounting and Money part-time and facilitates the Senior Ball.

lorna.wilson@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff
Sandy Wright, WR

Ms Wright is an English teacher and is also our Bus Controller (responsible for 300 students on 8 bus routes).

sandy.wright@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Teaching Staff

Support Staff

Heather Adams

Mrs Adams is our Science Technician

heather.adams@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Marilyn Barton

Mrs Barton is the Finance Assistant.

marilyn.barton@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Kathryn Beatson

Mrs Beatson is our Gateway Coordinator.

kathryn.beatson@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Bonnie Campbell

Ms Campbell is our Librarian

bonnie.campbell@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Sally Chapman

Ms Chapman is one of our cleaning supervisors.

admin@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Megan Coleman

Mrs Coleman is our Executive Officer.

megan.coleman@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Paula Dempsey

Ms Dempsey is the Principal's (Scott Haines) Executive Assistant

paula.dempsey@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Carol Fowler

Mrs Fowler is the Truancy Officer and she does an awesome job!

admin@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Adrienne Fry

Ms Fry is the Sports Co-ordinator.

adrienne.fry@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Marian Herrick

Mrs Herrick is a Teacher Aide at The Base.

admin@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Morris Lawrence

Morris is part of the team at Te Whare Pukeone.

admin@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Jean Nikkel

Jean is part of the team at Te Whare Pukeone.

admin@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Tomoko Kudo O'Brien

Tomoko is our Japanese Student Advisor

tomoko.obrien@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. 021 02367730 or 03 9295215
Support Staff
Dennis Piggott

Dennis is the Groundsman for our school.

admin@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Rose Scheib

Rose Scheib is our Homestay Manager for overseas students. 

rose.scheib@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Wendy Smith

Wendy is one of our cleaning supervisors.

admin@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Sheree Snell

Sheree is Receptionist at the Public Counter and does a wide range of duties in the office and for teachers.

sheree.snell@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Trish Taylor

Trish works as the Arts Department Coordinator and also provides Teacher Aide support.

trish.taylor@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Julie Tideman

Julie is our Fundraising & Marketing Manager

julie.tideman@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Ellie Tomsett

Ellie is employed as a Teacher Aide

ellie.tomsett@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Leigh Webster

Leigh is our Student Office Administrator

leigh.webster@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff
Helen Westrupp

Helen is the School Secretary and is responsible for all student records.  She is also involved in NCEA data input and other admin duties.

 
helen.westrupp@motuekahigh.school.nz    p. (03) 528 9050
Support Staff