Motueka High School Archive

Welcome to our new Archive site

This is currently being added to, as time permits.  We hope to bring you as many photos and info as we can from our Archives.  If you have photos, documents and anything you would like to add to the site, please email

Alumni If you are an Alumni of Motueka High School, we welcome your contributions to our listing. 

Please send detatils to with Archvie in the subject line, thank you.

1902 Motueka District High School first opened

First School Motto: Honor Nostrae Scolae (The Good Name of Our School)

1920's to 1940's

1923 Dux: Lenora Knapp

1925 Dux: Rowland Talbot  Proxme Accessit: Claude H Holyoake

1927 Dux: Ian C Greensill Proxime Accessit: Beryl Inwood/Lenora Knapp

1929 Dux: Blanche York  Head Prefect: Laura Ingram

​​​​​​​1930 Dux: Monica Parker  Proxime Accessit: Betsy Lyon

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​1931 Dux: Violet Sinclair   Proxime Accesit: Leslie Wise

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​1932 Dux: Thelma Cain   Proxime Accessit: Ina Fawcett

1932 New School Motto: Qui Patitur Vincit (He who perseveres succeeds)

​​​​​​​1933 Dux: Ula Goodman  Proxime Accessit: Stuart Wratt

1934 Dux: Ethelwyn Green   Proxime Accessit: Keith Starnes

1935 Dux: Joe Senior   Proxime Accessit: Margaret Scott/John Woodley

1936 Dux: Alan Weir

1937 Dux: L Evans   Proxime Accessit: Ruth Masters​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​1938 Dux: Shirley Jones  Proxime Accessit: WA Sparks/J Vickerman

1939 Dux: Peggy Russell   Proxime Accessit: Ken Leigh

1940 Dux: Alison Barr   Proxime Accessit: Bertram York

1941  Dux: B Robertson   Proxime Accessit: MJ Smith

1942  Dux: Rhona Gaudin

1943   Dux: Irene Hodge   Proxime Accessit: Leonard Wilson

1944   Dux: Cyril Wright   Proxime Accessit: Eric Cederman

​​​​​​​1945  -


​​​​​​​1950's School Coat of Arms


February 1955, the new High School opens with a roll of 333 pupils.   The school was officially opened by the late Hon C K Skinner on 12 March 1955.

Evening School classes started.

​​​​​​​1955 Head Girl: Jeanette Kenning, Head Boy: John Webley

​​​​​​​1955 School Leavers


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​1956 Head Girl: Cushla Brereton, Head Boy: Lloyd Goodall

​​​​​​​1956 School Leavers


​​​​​​​1957 Head Prefects: Joan Miller and Lloyd Goodall

1957 School Leavers​​​​​​​​​​​​​


1958 Head Girl Margaret Eddie, Head Boy Ewen Martin

​​​​​​​1958 School Leavers


1959 Head Boy: John Kolff, Head Girl Dulcie McNabb

1959 School Leavers


1960 Head Girl: Allison Hall, Head Boy: Lindsay Murray​​​​​​​


​​​​​​​1961 Head Girl: Helen Goodall, Head Boy: Allan Chang


1962 Dux: Noel Alexander  Head Girl: Beverly Carson, Head Boy: Ron Heath

1963 ​​​​​

1963 Dux: Judith Beere  Head Girl: Dinah Tait, Head Boy: Brian Allred

1964 ​​​​​

1964 Dux: Imelda Cosgrove


1965 Dux: Isabel Thompson Head Girl: Penelope Thorp, Head Boy: Peter Robinson

1966​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​

1966 Dux: David Wratt Head Girl: Penelope Thorp, Head Boy: Geoffrey Milnes


1967 Dux: Carolyn Cederman Head Girl: Olwyn Haycock, Head Boy: Graeme Black


1968 Dux: Dianne Trewavas Head Prefect: Arch Campbell


1969 Dux: Linley MacLean Head Prefect: Shirley Simpson


1970 Dux: David Hurd Head Girl: Linda Cock, Head Boy: Bruce Bennett​​​​​​​


1971 Dux: Claire Taylor Head Girl: Claire Taylor, Head Boy: Peter Ryder​​​​​​​


1972 Dux: Gloria Stevens  Head Girl: Niki Bennett, Head Boy: Stan Rowell


1973 School Dux: Sylvia Vriend. Head Girl: Lynley Fry, Head Boy: Keith Wratt


1974 Dux: Jennifer Barrett  ​​​​​​​Head Girl: Susan George, Head Boy: David Beatson


1975 Dux: Christopher Hilder.  Head Prefect: Cathy Robson


1976 Dux: Wendy Gardener.  Head Prefect: Paul Bennett


1977 Dux: Colin Tait 


​​​​​​​1978 Dux: Michael Parkinson


​​​​​​​1979 Dux: Viviana Fon


1980 Dux: Colin Fry


​​​​​​​1981 Dux: Brenda Walker


1982 Dux: Norman Hadfield

1983  Dux: Peter Bourne-Webb

​​​​​​​1984  Dux: Scott Thompson

1985  Dux:  David Shuker

​​​​​​​1986  Dux: Troy Lipsham

​​​​​​​1987  Dux: Samuel Newton

​​​​​​​1988  Dux: Anna Walls

1989  Dux: Mark Winstanley

​​​​​​​1990  Dux: Angela Stratford

1991  Dux: Raelene Bolton

1992  Dux: Marama Howell

1993  Dux: Sarah Taylor

​​​​​​​1994  Dux: Bruce Kelly

​​​​​​​1995  Dux: Campbell McQuarrie

​​​​​​​1996  Dux: Andres James

1997  Dux: David Lowe

​​​​​​​1998  Dux: Janna Nikkel

1999  Dux: Fred Woodcock

​​​​​​​2000  Dux: Lucas Nikkel